Review: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

9723667Agatha Christie has been on my list of authors to try for a very long time. Something about the genre “mystery” cuts my enthusiasm for a book by half so I have been putting it off for years. Years! For really no reason at all, since I really enjoyed And Then There Were None. In fact, I read it in just two sittings.

Essentially, in And Then There Were None, ten people are invited to spend time on an isolated island by two people that the ten people vaguely recall knowing or has been tricked into believing that friends or what have you will be staying there as well. Then they’re killed off one by one.

I don’t really know what’s going on with me lately, but I took a really long break from horror novels and movies, not on purpose but I just wasn’t feeling it, and for some reason, I’m now more freaked out than before. First there was The Woman in Black, which I’m sure shouldn’t have given me the amount of heebie-jeebies I got, and then last night at 3am when I finished this book, I was 85% sure I could hear someone in the apartment. Probably to kill me in my bed. Nothing whatsoever to do with And Then There Were None, I’m sure.

Also, I guessed who it was in the beginning, but Agatha Christie did keep me questioning my choice throughout the book so I don’t think it was that predictable, and of course at one point I was forced to change my opinion, so bravo for that.

It was an engaging and enjoyable read.

4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

